the perfect chocolate chip cookies

Chocolate chip cookies are my love language.  Is there anything more comforting than putting on pajama pants and inhaling a fresh batch of the most classic of all the cookies hot out of the oven? No, no there is not.

And I always help myself to the batter, raw eggs and all. Cory inevitably gives me a well-intentioned speech about people dying from salmonella as I lick the Kitchen Aid beaters but I think he’s just trying to ruin my life.

cookie dough

So beautiful it brings tears to my eyes.

Since my mom first let me crack the eggs at the age of two I’ve made a bajillion chocolate chip cookie recipes and perfected the process as a newlywed with a hungry husband who supports my late night baking. Can I put that on my resume?

photo 1

Anyway, if you’re into soft baked, chewy cookies packed with melty chocolate? Do this!

Ingredients

  • 1 stick butter (softened)
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 1 cup milk chocolate chips

Directions

Step 1
Cream butter, oil and sugars until light and fluffy. Add eggs, vanilla and salt and mix until combined. Add in the baking soda and cornstarch and half of the flour and mix well. Pour in the remaining flour and mix until combined. Stir in chocolate chips, cover and chill for one hour.
Step 2
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Drop heaping spoonfuls of dough onto cookie sheets. Bake 10-12 minutes. Pull them from the oven when the edges are slightly golden and the centers look just barely done. After 2 minutes remove cookies from sheets onto cooling racks. Store in an airtight container at room temperature.

[adapted from these chocolate chip cookies]

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/13341459/?claim=mx79mrm8mza”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

One thought on “the perfect chocolate chip cookies

Leave a Reply

