turkey trot 2014

Participating in the Electric City Gobbler 5K on Thanksgiving morning is a beloved tradition in our family. And by beloved tradition I mean my dad and I spent the night before the race using all our considerable charm to convince everyone else that leaving their warm beds at the crack of dawn to run 3.1 miles would be fun.

My mom and my little sister Sarah heroically agreed to join us. Maybe they can help us inspire the other seven members of our family to run next year?

photo (5)

We arrived about fifteen minutes before the race began at 8:30 a.m. dressed in our matching running attire. I think the headbands were an especially nice touch.

Once the race started there was quite a crowd of more than 600 hungry runners sporting festive turkey costumes. It was a gorgeous day with just the right amount of chill in the air and the run flew by while I entertained myself with giddy thoughts about all the stuffing and sweet potato casserole coming my way.

The gobbler run is my favorite race because of the relaxed holiday atmosphere and the opportunity to burn some calories before I drown myself in whipped cream. Most importantly, race proceeds benefit local food banks, Operation Active Kids and the Salvation Army.

I crossed the finish line in 25:37 with an average pace of 8:16. Since injuring my knee a month ago training for the Spinx Run Fest half-marathon I haven’t been running so I was especially excited to place second in my age group and receive the cutest turkey medal I’ve ever seen.

And then we all went home and ate and ate and ate some more.

Leave a Reply

