what i’ve learned in 462 days of marriage

20130907_keowee_key_country_club_wedding_1328Last night we attended a beautiful wedding with twinkly white lights, Bing Crosby Christmas music and the dreamiest red velvet cake. While listening to our friends proclaim their heartfelt vows with happy tears, my mind went back to that perfect September day when Cory and I stood up in front of our family and friends and became husband and wife. We were so confident, so giddy, so blithely naive in our view of marriage.

Promising to love, honor, cherish and protect your spouse on your wedding day is easy. Living out those promises in everyday life is impossible without the grace of God.

462 days later, I am nowhere near the wife I want to be. I am quick to doubt and complain and worry about the future. I stubbornly serve broccoli quinoa casserole and refuse to plunge my own toilet. I am often competitive, wanting Cory to admit he’s wrong and acknowledge me as right. I’m usually so far from being right. 

Marriage constantly exposes my sin and it makes me more aware of my need for Jesus.

Because even with all these failings, God still sees me as holy and beloved. He calls me His chosen one. And His chosen ones are commanded to bear with one another and forgive each other as we’ve been forgiven.

I serve Christ by serving Cory, whether he deserves it or not.

I’m married to the most kind, patient and forgiving man who models Christ to me every day. Neither one of us is perfect but together we’re capable of so much more than I ever dreamed. This life with Cory is wonderful and joyous and filled with laughter.

There is nothing that can compare to the richness of fully knowing someone and being fully known. 

God designed marriage to be an earthly pattern of the divine relationship between Christ and the Church. To understand my role as a wife, I must embrace this eternal vision and ask God each morning for wisdom to become the very best help meet that I can.

A heavenly marriage calls for honor, submission and reverence. This challenge is bigger than me; it takes faith and wisdom to believe that in everything, God is good, just and kind.

Knowing God’s will from reading His word helps me become that kind of person–filled with peace and joy! The more I seek to obey God by being a good help meet to Cory, the more I will know God and care about the things He values.

Then the Lord God said, “It is not good that man should be alone; I will make him a helper fit for him.” – Genesis 2:18

2 thoughts on “what i’ve learned in 462 days of marriage

Leave a Reply

