First Trimester Favorites

IMG_6182

I can’t believe I’m already 23 weeks into this pregnancy! Here’s a list of the things I swore by during my first trimester:

1. Snoogle. I got this amazing body pillow for Christmas when I was eight weeks pregnant and it SAVED my sleep. Cory is a little jealous of the Snoogle but sometimes I share.

2. Preggie Pops. Keeping a few of these citrus-flavored lozenges in my car, in my purse and in my desk really helped keep nausea at bay during the workday. Except for when they didn’t.

3. Smoothies. For several weeks straight I drank a smoothie immediately after waking up in the morning and it made such a difference in how I felt. My favorite is peanut butter and banana with greek yogurt for extra protein. The recipe is simple: 1 frozen banana, 1/2 cup greek yogurt, 1 cup milk, 2 tablespoons peanut butter, 1 teaspoon cocoa, 1 teaspoon honey. Blend!

4. Ginger Ale. I never drink soda, but ginger ale settled my stomach and kept me hydrated when water developed a weird taste (major sad face).

5. Mama Bee Belly Butter. For me, using moisturizer isn’t as much about preventing stretch marks as it is soothing the itchy skin that comes with a growing belly and boobs. This brand is super affordable and has a very light scent.

6. Glow Nurture App. There are tons of free pregnancy apps out there and I love how personalized this one is. There’s a due date calculator, everyday health log, appointment tracking and daily insights. You can join a community board based on your due date and it’s really interesting to read Q&A from other women in the same stage of pregnancy.

7. Brita Water Bottle. Staying hydrated when you’re pregnant is so important. I like to know exactly how much water I’m drinking during the day and that it’s always being filtered. I bought this bottle right before our trip to Ireland and take it with me everywhere.

8. Prenatal Vitamins. Apparently choking down gargantuan pills while your gag reflex is hyperactive is a must. The NatureMade brand gave me no tummy problems, is not expensive, can be found just about anywhere and was approved by my midwife. I take one at night right before I go to sleep so it has plenty of time to absorb into my system.

9. Maternity Leggings. I live in these leggings and loose tops. I didn’t start showing much at all until after 17 weeks but it was nice to still feel comfortable in the bloat stage.

10. What To Expect When You’re Expecting. This book has so much information and can be overwhelming at first glance, but I just skimmed the parts I thought were relevant. For the first few weeks when all I wanted to do was research, at least I had a reliable source! I also have the app and really like the weekly updates that go into greater detail and tell me what’s going on with our baby and what I changes I can personally expect each week as an expectant mommy.

For any mamas or mamas-to-be out there, I’d love to know your pregnancy must-haves as well!

4 thoughts on “First Trimester Favorites

Leave a Reply

