Third Trimester Favorites

IMG_7431

Somehow I’ve fallen into a time warp and baby girl’s due date is TOMORROW! Now that the end of this pregnancy is in sight, here are my third trimester favorites from weeks 28-40:

1. Pregtastic Podcasts. These podcasts are very conversational and touch on a variety of topics from skin concerns to breastfeeding to epigenetics to surviving morning sickness. I especially enjoyed listening to birth stories and hearing the ups and downs of pregnancy for women from all different backgrounds.

2. Prenatal Massage. Around 33 weeks I treated myself to a prenatal massage at The Spa at The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort and it was HEAVENLY.  If you’re feeling at all swollen or uncomfortable schedule an appointment and experience the magic. I promise it’s worth every penny.

3. Childbirth Class. Since we’re preparing for a natural labor and delivery, we took a Lamaze class with a wonderful certified Lamaze childbirth educator and trained birth doula named Jen Hutchinson. It was so informative for both of us to learn safe and healthy approaches to pregnancy, childbirth and early parenting. If you’re local I highly recommend taking this class.

4. Childbirth Books. In addition to traumatizing myself with YouTube birth videos, I’ve read some great books including Natural Childbirth the Bradley Way and Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth. I’ve found both of these to be eye-opening. Of course, always remember to take what works for you and leave the rest behind.

5. The Ovia App. This is another app that I’ve loved checking daily. You can track your symptoms and moods, quickly look up foods to see what is and isn’t safe to eat, log your weight gain/sleep/exercise stats and read articles to your heart’s content.

6. Facial Cleansing Towelettes. Pregnancy sweating is real. These towelettes are perfect to wipe off my face and chest after I’ve been outside and just want to cool down before taking a shower.

7. Swimming. Right now nothing feels better than floating in a pool. I’ve struggled with insomnia here and there during the third trimester but I always sleep like a rock after a swim.

8. Birthing Ball. I first used a birthing ball to practice various birthing positions in our childbirth class. For someone who sits in an office chair all day, it’s an inexpensive and effective way to ease aches and pains.

9. Lemon Water. I’ve been more thirsty than usual (probably because it’s a bajillion degrees outside) and adding lemon juice to my water helps me stay hydrated and feel less bloated.

10. PinkBlush Maternity. I collaborated with PinkBlush Maternity for a gift card giveaway in July and love all of the clothes I’ve purchased from this boutique. You can see the dress I chose for our collaboration and my maternity photos here.

Come on out, baby Davis!

Previous pregnancy favorites posts:

First Trimester Favorites

Second Trimester Favorites 

Leave a Reply

